1. Handbook
  2. Courses
  3. Bachelor of Science (Extended)

Bachelor of Science (Extended) (B-SCIEXT)

Bachelors DegreeYear: 2019 Delivered: On Campus (Parkville)

You’re viewing the 2019 Handbook:
Or view archived Handbooks


Award titleBachelor of Science
Year & campus2019 — Parkville
Fees informationSubject EFTSL, level, discipline and census date
Study level & typeUndergraduate Coursework
AQF level 7
Credit points400 credit points
Duration48 months full time or 96 months part time

The Bachelor of Science (Extended) is a four-year program that provides a transition into tertiary science and technology study and is available to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students. A year of study in addition to the three-year BSc program provides students with foundation knowledge and skills in science, mathematics and communication, while supporting the development of students’ academic skills for tertiary study. Upon completion, graduates will have completed all of the requirements of the Bachelor of Science.

Students are supported by a range of the University’s student support services, including Murrup Barak, the Melbourne Institute for Indigenous Development, as well as having the opportunity to live in one of the colleges affiliated with the University of Melbourne.